Me, Renamed

When things get boring in high school, just change your name to Randy!

When I was in junior high school I decided I needed a 'newscaster type " name if I would be a success on television sportscasting. So instead of Doug Rose, I told all my teachers to call me Randy Rose. (It does sound COOL, right?)

All of them agreed, and a major problem quickly surfaced when the principal called me into his office for successive absences.We quickly figured out that when the teacher made the roll-call I could never remember to answer to Randy. Bad move.

I decided Doug wasn't so bad after all, and I probably never would be a newscaster anyway. Now that I'm a writer I've discovered the joy of using my middle name (I'm named after my father Raymond)–so now I gladly answer to Douglas Raymond Rose—-and actually raise my hand when my name is called.

TIMELY TIP: Never change your name unless you can remember to answer roll call to it!(:)

Powered by Plinky

About poetdoug

Free-lance Author-Writer-Speaker Member Academy of American Poets Member Texas State Teachers Association Member Texas State Historical Society Award-winning free-lance writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

