A TEXAS COWBOY’S PRAYER

Howdy Lord,

As the orange sun sets here on the range

I’m a fixin’ now to pause and pray;

Thanks Lord for all my healthy cattle

—And the chance to ride another day.

Thanks for all those big old Texas Stars

That paint bright the darkest night–

It’s just like sleepin’ in downtown Dallas

With your Big Dipper here shining bright.

I pray dear God for Peace on Earth

And for all my doggone friends and kin;

Well, gutter my buff and call me a biscuit

You can see what a mess this world’s in!

The whole earth’s gone plumb Imagecatty-whompus

And mere handshakes don’t mean a thing;

We still know the Eyes of Texas are on us

But we need Your eyes divine help to bring.

Lord, I only ask one whoppin/ big favor of you

(The main one I’ve asked you since birth)

Please Save me a saddle over yonder in Heaven

–So I can still round-up my cattle on earth!

AMEN.

2012 by Douglas Raymond Rose

Member Academy of American Poets

Member Texas State Historical Society

 

About poetdoug

Free-lance Author-Writer-Speaker Member Academy of American Poets Member Texas State Teachers Association Member Texas State Historical Society Award-winning free-lance writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

